2014 JAA Activities


Regularly scheduled events/programs

Keirokai: Once or Twice a month 2nd & 4th Thursday

Apple Kids (www.applekidsnyc.org) and Japanese Business Women's Committee (www.bwcjaa.org) will have monthly events.

Free Consultation

JAA provides free consultations by professionals for all the people in the community.

Free Consultation on Medical and Social welfare
By Dr. Kinichi Shibutani, Dr. Umeko Takeshige and Ms. Aileen Yamaguchi
On the days of Keirokai

Free Legal Consultation on Wills and other topics
By Helen Irie, Esq. and Reiko Takikawa, Esq.
On 4th Thursday on Odd Months

Free Legal Consultation (excluding Immigration law)
By Reiko Kasano, Esq.
On 2nd Thursday on Even months

Free Legal Consultation on Immigration Law
By Noriaki Miyamoto, Esq. on Feb. 20 ,July 17 and December 18
Keiko Kato, Esq. on April 17 and August 21
Reina Boaz, Esq. on March 20 and Sept. 18
Mami Terai, Esq. on May 22 and October 16
Katsumi Miki, Esq. on Jan. 16, June 19 and November 20
On 3rd Thursday 10am-12pm of every month

Free Consultation on Tax
By Joe Oshima, CPA on Jan.23 & Feb. 6


JAA Activities in 2014

February 5 (Wed.) "Opening Reception of Exhibition of Japanese American Internment Project, if they came for me today Coast Stories"

March 22 (Sat.) Japanese Language Workshop

April 5 (Sat.) Spring Flea Market

April 19 (Sat.) The 10th Sakura Matsuri @ Flushing Meadows Corona Park

April 12 (Sat.) to April 27 (Sun.) The 6th Sakura Health Fare

April to August on Sunday mornings the 29th JAA Foreign Minister’s Cup Baseball Games

May 1 (Thurs.) to 10 (Sat.) 19th JAA Art Exhibition

May 11 (Sun.) Japan Day @ Central Park JAA will have Calligraphy booth

May 26 (Mon.) Memorial Day Services at Japanese Cemeteries at Mt Olivet Cemetery and Cypress Hills Cemetery

May/June The 44th Scholarship Dinner

August 2 (Sat.) Mini Flea Market

September 8 (Mon.) the JAA/USJC Charity Golf Tournament sponsored by ITO EN

September 15 (Mon.) the 21st JAA Charity Golf Tournament

October the 8th Senior Week

October 25 Japanese Language Fall Workshop

November 8 (Sat.) Annual Bazaar

November 13 (Thurs.) Thanksgiving Day Keirokai

December 5 (Fri.) the 57th Year End Dinner

December 11 (Thurs.) End of the Year Keirokai

December 18 (Thurs.) Volunteers Thank you reception



2014 Major fundraising events have not been scheduled yet.